Skip to content
State Map

Solar tax credit 2026: the federal credit has ended, and this is who claimed it by state and income

The statute, the IRS guidance and the IRS Statistics of Income record of the Residential Clean Energy Credit, with a 51-jurisdiction map and an 11-state check of state incentives.
Rooftop solar panels on a house with conduit running to an inverter, disconnect and meter on the exterior wall
Data
IRS Statistics of Income Historic Table 2 (state data), tax year 2023; Publication 1304 Table 3.3; Form 5695 Table 1
Period
Tax years 2018 to 2023; law and guidance checked 2026-10-27
Release used
2026-08-21
Next release
Tax year 2024 state data: annual program, date not yet on the SOI schedule
Geography
50 states, District of Columbia, United States
Sources
32 (29 official)
The answer

For homeowner-owned systems there is no federal solar tax credit 2026 claim: Public Law 119-21 ended the 30% Residential Clean Energy Credit (Section 25D) for expenditures made after December 31, 2025. In tax year 2023, the latest IRS state data, 1.52 million returns claimed $7.79 billion, led by Nevada at 20.8 claims per 1,000 returns.

$0Federal 25D credit for residential solar expenditures made after December 31, 2025 (Public Law 119-21, section 70506)[7][10]
$7.79 billion25D credit claimed on 1,518,210 returns, tax year 2023 (latest IRS state data)[1]
71.5%Share of 2023 25D credit dollars that went to returns with AGI of $100,000 or more[4]
12.2xGap between the highest (Nevada, 20.8) and lowest (North Dakota, 1.7) claim rates per 1,000 returns, 2023[1]

The solar tax credit 2026 status: Section 25D ended for expenditures made after December 31, 2025

The homeowner credit for solar, batteries and other residential clean energy property stopped at the end of 2025. The statute sets the date; IRS guidance says the date that counts is when installation is completed.

Section 70506 of Public Law 119-21, enacted July 4, 2025, rewrote 25D(h) so the Residential Clean Energy Credit "shall not apply with respect to any expenditures made after December 31, 2025". Before the change, the credit was scheduled to run at 30% through 2032, then 26% in 2033 and 22% in 2034; section 70506 struck those later steps (26 U.S.C. 25D amendment notes).

The IRS FAQ in Fact Sheet FS-2025-05 (August 21, 2025) applies the existing rule in 25D(e)(8)(A): an expenditure is made when the original installation is completed. A system paid for in 2025 but completed after December 31, 2025 does not qualify. For new construction, the expenditure is made when the taxpayer's original use of the home begins.

Federal residential solar credit: what the law and IRS guidance say, checked 2026-10-27 Download CSV
DateDocumentProvisionWhat it doesSource
2025-07-04Public Law 119-21 (139 Stat. 72)Section 70506Section 25D no longer applies to expenditures made after December 31, 2025; the scheduled 26% (2033) and 22% (2034) rates are strucks7, s8
2025-07-04Public Law 119-21Section 70505Section 25C (energy efficient home improvement credit) ends for property placed in service after December 31, 2025s7
2025-07-04Public Law 119-21Section 70513(a) and (g)(5)Section 48E no longer applies to wind or solar property placed in service after December 31, 2027, for facilities whose construction begins more than 12 months after enactment; energy storage at such a facility is excepteds7
2025-07-04Public Law 119-21Section 70513(c)No 48E credit for leased property described in 25D(d)(1) (solar water heating) or 25D(d)(4) (small wind) when rented or leased to a third party; applies to taxable years beginning after enactments7, s8
2025-08-21IRS Fact Sheet FS-2025-05 (IR-2025-86)25D(e)(8)(A)An expenditure is made when original installation is completed; paying in 2025 for a system completed after December 31, 2025 does not qualifys10, s11
2025-09-02IRS Notice 2025-42 (effective date)Beginning of constructionPhysical Work Test is the method for wind and solar facilities to show construction began before July 5, 2026; the Five Percent Safe Harbor remains for solar facilities of 1.5 MW (AC) or lesss13
2026-04-30Instructions for Form 5695 (2025), page last reviewedTermination of creditsNo residential clean energy credit for expenditures made after December 31, 2025; unused 25D credit can be carried to 2026s12
2026-07-04IRS Residential Clean Energy Credit page, last reviewedCredit statusCredit equals 30% of costs of property installed 2022 through December 31, 2025, and is not available for property placed in service after that dates9

Dates are the date of the law, notice or page review. The IRS page still contains one sentence from prior law about a phase-out starting in 2033.

Source: [7][8][9][10][11][12][13] U.S. Government Publishing Office (govinfo); Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School; Internal Revenue Service; Internal Revenue Service; Internal Revenue Service; Internal Revenue Service; Internal Revenue Service

Residential Clean Energy Credit (Section 25D): A nonrefundable federal income tax credit equal to 30% of the cost of new qualified solar electric, solar water heating, small wind, geothermal heat pump, fuel cell and (from 2023) battery storage property of at least 3 kilowatt hours installed at a US home the taxpayer lives in, including labor (IRS).

The IRS credit page, last reviewed July 4, 2026, says the credit is not available for property placed in service after December 31, 2025, while one sentence lower on the same page still refers to a phase-out beginning in 2033, a remnant of prior law. The statute controls; the FAQ notes that where an FAQ is inaccurate, the law determines tax liability.

What still applies in 2026: carryforwards, third-party ownership under 48E, and state credits

Three things survive the 25D cutoff: unused 25D credit carried forward, business credits for systems a third party owns, and state incentives.

Carryforward. The 25D credit is nonrefundable, but unused amounts carry forward. The Instructions for Form 5695 (2025) tell filers to use the form to carry the unused portion of the credit to 2026. CRS Insight IN12611 notes that Public Law 119-21 did not change the carryforward rules. On preliminary 2023 data, 601,300 returns carried $4.49 billion of 25D credit forward, and CRS calculated that 43.3% of 2023 recipients carried part of their credit forward and 10.2% carried all of it.

Third-party ownership. Section 48E, the clean electricity investment credit, is a business credit. Section 70513 of Public Law 119-21 ends it for wind and solar property placed in service after December 31, 2027 when construction begins more than 12 months after enactment, that is, after July 4, 2026. IRS Notice 2025-42 makes the Physical Work Test the method for showing construction began before July 5, 2026, and keeps the Five Percent Safe Harbor for solar facilities of 1.5 MW (AC) or less. Section 70513(c) also bars 48E for leased property described in 25D(d)(1) and (d)(4), which are solar water heating and small wind property; the text does not name solar electric property. How these rules apply to a given lease or power purchase agreement is a question for the system owner's tax adviser.

Other federal home credits ended on the same date. Section 70505 ended the 25C energy efficient home improvement credit for property placed in service after December 31, 2025; heat pump incentives are covered in heat pump rebates by state, and the 30C charger credit change is in EV charger installation cost.

Nevada, Hawaii and Florida had the most 25D claims per 1,000 returns in 2023

Claims cluster in the Sun Belt and Hawaii by rate, and in California, Texas and Florida by dollars. The national rate was 9.5 claims per 1,000 returns.

Returns claiming the residential clean energy credit per 1,000 returns, by state, tax year 2023

US rate: 9.5 per 1,000 returns

Returns claiming the residential clean energy credit per 1,000 returns, by state, tax year 2023US tile map of Section 25D claims per 1,000 returns in tax year 2023. Nevada is highest at 20.8, followed by Hawaii 17.8, Florida 17.7, Arizona 17.3 and California 17.1; North Dakota is lowest at 1.7. The US rate is 9.5.AK: 4AK4ME: 8ME8VT: 9.8VT9.8NH: 9NH9WA: 6.1WA6.1ID: 9.3ID9.3MT: 6.2MT6.2ND: 1.7ND1.7MN: 3.6MN3.6IL: 6.2IL6.2WI: 3.1WI3.1MI: 3.5MI3.5NY: 5.2NY5.2RI: 11.6RI11.6MA: 7.9MA7.9OR: 7.9OR7.9NV: 20.8NV20.8WY: 4.1WY4.1SD: 2.5SD2.5IA: 5.4IA5.4IN: 3.6IN3.6OH: 3.4OH3.4PA: 5.7PA5.7NJ: 6.7NJ6.7CT: 8.8CT8.8CA: 17.1CA17.1UT: 10.2UT10.2CO: 11.6CO11.6NE: 3.1NE3.1MO: 4.7MO4.7KY: 3.4KY3.4WV: 2.5WV2.5VA: 7.8VA7.8MD: 7.7MD7.7DE: 8.9DE8.9AZ: 17.3AZ17.3NM: 15.0NM15.0KS: 4KS4AR: 8.6AR8.6TN: 3.8TN3.8NC: 6.7NC6.7SC: 6.5SC6.5DC: 6.9DC6.9OK: 5.8OK5.8LA: 7.3LA7.3MS: 9MS9AL: 11.1AL11.1GA: 7.5GA7.5HI: 17.8HI17.8TX: 15.9TX15.9FL: 17.7FL17.7PR1.7 to 3.63.6 to 5.75.7 to 6.96.9 to 8.88.8 to 11.611.6 to 20.8claims per 1,000 returns

Source: IRS Statistics of Income, Historic Table 2, tax year 2023 (released 2026-08-21); ECW calculation

IRS Statistics of Income state data for tax year 2023 (returns filed in calendar 2024, released August 21, 2026) show 1,518,210 returns with a residential clean energy credit, out of 159,949,000 returns filed. Nevada led at 20.8 claims per 1,000 returns, followed by Hawaii (17.8), Florida (17.7), Arizona (17.3) and California (17.1). North Dakota was lowest at 1.7, a gap of 12.2 times. 12 of 51 jurisdictions were above the US rate.

Residential clean energy credit dollars by state, top 15, tax year 2023

Credit used against tax, $ millions

Residential clean energy credit dollars by state, top 15, tax year 2023Horizontal bar chart of 25D credit dollars by state in tax year 2023. California leads with $1,931.5 million, then Texas $1,050.5 million and Florida $866.0 million; together the three account for 49.4% of the US total.$ millionsCalifornia1,932Texas1,050Florida866Arizona306New York293Colorado210Illinois205Virginia178Massachusetts177Pennsylvania171Nevada170New Jersey153Washington137North Carolina135Georgia122

Source: IRS Statistics of Income, Historic Table 2, tax year 2023

By dollars, California returns claimed $1.93 billion, or 24.8% of the US total of $7.79 billion. Texas ($1.05 billion) and Florida ($866.0 million) followed, and the three states together claimed 49.4%. The 10 largest states by dollars claimed 69.1%.

Residential clean energy credit (Section 25D) by state, tax year 2023, ranked by claims per 1,000 returns Download CSV
Show all 52 rows
RankStateReturns filedReturns claiming 25DClaims per 1,000 returns25D credit amount ($ thousands)Average credit per claiming return ($)
1Nevada1,564,59032,47020.8169,8555,231
2Hawaii695,47012,35017.891,0047,369
3Florida11,218,030198,07017.7865,9824,372
4Arizona3,391,03058,82017.3305,4945,194
5California18,482,300315,39017.11,931,4776,124
6Texas13,671,450217,89015.91,050,5374,821
7New Mexico980,62014,75015.070,6984,793
8Colorado3,086,83035,78011.6209,7835,863
9Rhode Island570,8606,65011.639,9816,012
10Alabama2,140,84023,76011.186,8363,655
11Utah1,542,53015,76010.285,9375,453
12Vermont335,1403,2909.817,5615,338
13Idaho884,6608,2609.342,3915,132
14Mississippi1,229,59011,0109.024,9662,268
15New Hampshire732,2506,5909.049,0407,442
16Delaware507,3904,5008.920,0024,445
17Connecticut1,822,41016,0708.8106,5526,630
18Arkansas1,292,19011,1108.650,0364,504
19Maine712,1105,7008.030,0255,268
20Massachusetts3,595,73028,4107.9176,7216,220
21Oregon2,067,60016,3207.995,2135,834
22Virginia4,168,07032,5307.8177,9335,470
23Maryland3,100,20023,9507.7117,6464,912
24Georgia4,881,84036,4507.5122,5483,362
25Louisiana1,932,54014,0807.348,8893,472
26District of Columbia348,6402,3906.912,6695,301
27New Jersey4,654,08031,2206.7153,1204,905
28North Carolina4,923,71032,9106.7134,6304,091
29South Carolina2,487,89016,2206.564,3793,969
30Illinois6,100,25038,0806.2204,5755,372
31Montana553,9103,4406.220,8636,065
32Washington3,781,89023,2006.1136,9455,903
33Oklahoma1,702,9309,8905.851,0395,161
34Pennsylvania6,301,14035,8205.7171,4354,786
35Iowa1,482,0008,0305.444,7875,577
36New York9,789,33051,3305.2293,2575,713
37Missouri2,870,29013,5504.765,4714,832
38Wyoming282,3401,1504.16,3975,563
39Alaska347,9301,3804.05,7224,146
40Kansas1,366,1005,4104.027,8955,156
41Tennessee3,259,56012,3603.839,0983,163
42Indiana3,241,92011,5403.642,6163,693
43Minnesota2,902,64010,4603.666,5036,358
44Michigan4,872,33016,9403.565,6233,874
45Kentucky1,980,8406,7703.429,7764,398
46Ohio5,678,87019,1903.483,9914,377
47Nebraska951,4502,9603.114,0564,749
48Wisconsin2,944,6309,2203.147,3435,135
49South Dakota444,8901,1102.54,9944,499
50West Virginia777,4901,9202.59,0144,695
51North Dakota371,3206301.72,6764,248
United States (incl. Puerto Rico and other areas)159,949,0001,518,2109.57,791,0245,132

IRS SOI Historic Table 2, tax year 2023 (returns filed in calendar 2024), fields N1, N07262 and A07262. Return counts rounded to the nearest 10 by IRS. Credit amount is the credit used against tax, not the credit earned. 25D covers solar electric, solar water heating, small wind, geothermal heat pumps, fuel cells and batteries.

Source: [1][2] Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income; Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income

Home battery storage unit mounted beside a residential electrical panel in a garage
Illustrative photograph. Generated image, not a specific project.

Average credit per claiming return ranged from $2,268 in Mississippi to $7,442 in New Hampshire, against a US average of $5,132. The amount is the credit used against tax that year. Because the credit is nonrefundable, a filer with a small tax bill uses less of it in the first year and carries the rest forward, which lowers the average in lower-income states.

Residential energy credit dollars rose 233.1% from 2018 to 2022

IRS state files show the combined residential energy credit growing every year from 2018 to 2023. Only from 2023 can 25D be separated from 25C.

Residential energy credits claimed, United States, tax years 2018 to 2023

25C and 25D combined, $ billions, nominal

Residential energy credits claimed, United States, tax years 2018 to 2023Bar chart of combined residential energy credits. The total rose from $2.40 billion in 2018 to $7.98 billion in 2022 and $10.12 billion in 2023, of which 25D was $7.79 billion.02.557.510.012.5$ billions2.420183.4420193.5720205.0320217.98202210.12023

Source: IRS Statistics of Income, Historic Table 2, tax years 2018 to 2023; 2023 is 25D plus 25C

The combined residential energy credit field (25C and 25D) totaled $2.40 billion on 726,440 returns in tax year 2018 and $7.98 billion on 3,220,260 returns in 2022. Claims rose 343.3% over those four years. In 2023 the two credits together reached $10.12 billion, 26.7% above 2022: $7.79 billion of 25D on 1,518,210 returns and $2.32 billion of 25C on 2,612,610 returns.

Residential energy credits claimed on individual returns, United States, tax years 2018 to 2023 Download CSV
Tax yearAll returns filedReturns claiming residential energy credit (25C and 25D combined)Combined credit amount ($ thousands)Returns claiming 25D25D credit amount ($ thousands)
2018153,455,990726,4402,396,771Not reported separatelyNot reported separately
2019157,705,3601,938,4103,443,881Not reported separatelyNot reported separately
2020164,041,9402,270,2603,572,223Not reported separatelyNot reported separately
2021159,514,7002,625,5705,029,606Not reported separatelyNot reported separately
2022159,651,3303,220,2607,983,695Not reported separatelyNot reported separately
2023159,949,000Not comparable (fields split)10,115,2731,518,2107,791,024

Tax years 2018 to 2022 use the single residential energy tax credit field (N07260), which combines 25C and 25D. From tax year 2023 IRS reports 25D (N07262) and 25C (N07265) separately; the 2023 combined amount is their sum. Returns claiming both credits cannot be de-duplicated, so a 2023 combined return count is not shown. Nominal dollars.

Source: [1][2][3] Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income; Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income; Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income

The series has breaks. Before 2023 IRS published one combined field, and the eligibility rules of both credits changed during the period, so the 2018 to 2022 growth cannot be assigned to solar alone. The three IRS products for 2023 also differ: the state file counts 1,518,210 returns and $7.79 billion; the sample-based Table 3.3 estimates 1,481,945 returns and $8.23 billion, 5.6% more dollars; the preliminary Form 5695 table, cut off at May 23, 2024, shows 1,246,440 returns and $6.34 billion.

Returns with AGI of $100,000 or more received 71.5% of 2023 credit dollars

The credit went mostly to middle and upper-middle income filers: claim rates rise with income and so does the average credit.

Share of returns, 25D claims and 25D dollars by income, tax year 2023

Percent of each total, by adjusted gross income

Share of returns, 25D claims and 25D dollars by income, tax year 2023Grouped bar chart by income. Returns with AGI of $100,000 to $200,000 were 17.2% of all returns but received 42.2% of 25D dollars; returns under $25,000 were 26.9% of returns and received 0.2%.010.020.030.040.050.0percent26.91.70.2Under $25,000(incl. no AGI)22.617.15$25,000 under$50,00024.934.123.4$50,000 under$100,00017.231.542.2$100,000 under$200,0006.812.822.4$200,000 under$500,0001.62.96.8$500,000 or moreShare of all returns (%)Share of 25D claims (%)Share of 25D dollars (%)

Source: IRS Statistics of Income, Publication 1304 Table 3.3, tax year 2023; ECW grouping

IRS Table 3.3 for tax year 2023 shows returns with AGI of $100,000 under $200,000 were 17.2% of all returns, 31.5% of 25D claims and 42.2% of 25D dollars. Returns with AGI of $200,000 or more received 29.3% of the dollars on 15.7% of claims. Returns under $25,000 were 26.9% of all returns and received 0.2% of the dollars.

Claim rates rose from 0.6 per 1,000 returns under $25,000 to 17.3 per 1,000 at $200,000 under $500,000. The average credit rose from $516 to $13,011 for returns of $500,000 or more. Nontaxable returns, where credits reduced tax to zero, accounted for 39.0% of 2023 25D dollars: on those returns, credits reduced income tax to zero.

Who claimed the residential clean energy credit: by size of adjusted gross income, tax year 2023 Download CSV
AGI groupAll returnsShare of all returns (%)Returns claiming 25DShare of 25D claims (%)25D credit amount ($ thousands)Share of 25D dollars (%)Average credit per claiming return ($)Claims per 1,000 returns
Under $25,000 (incl. no AGI)43,229,91226.925,0751.712,9460.25160.6
$25,000 under $50,00036,323,45722.6253,08417.1412,3965.01,6297.0
$50,000 under $100,00039,911,35224.9504,67234.11,923,65123.43,81212.6
$100,000 under $200,00027,602,75517.2466,29531.53,472,60742.27,44716.9
$200,000 under $500,00010,955,8186.8189,59412.81,845,82522.49,73617.3
$500,000 or more2,578,8151.643,2262.9562,4066.813,01116.8
All returns160,602,107100.01,481,945100.08,229,832100.05,5539.2

IRS SOI Publication 1304, Table 3.3 (weighted sample estimates, tax year 2023). Groups are sums of published AGI rows; 'Under $25,000' includes returns with no AGI.

Source: [4] Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income

Solar electric property was 86.0% of qualified 25D costs; batteries were 2.3%

The Form 5695 detail confirms that 25D was mainly a rooftop solar credit, with batteries a small but new line.

Qualified 25D costs by property type, tax year 2023 (preliminary)

Share of qualified costs reported on Form 5695, percent

Qualified 25D costs by property type, tax year 2023 (preliminary)Horizontal bar chart of qualified 25D costs. Solar electric property was 86.0% of reported costs; geothermal heat pumps 4.1%, solar water heating 3.5%, fuel cells 3.1%, batteries 2.3% and small wind 1.1%.percentSolar electric property86.0Geothermal heat pump property4.1Solar water heating property3.5Fuel cell property3.1Battery technology2.3Small wind energy property1.1

Source: IRS Form 5695 Table 1, tax year 2023, returns processed through 2024-05-23

Preliminary IRS Form 5695 data for tax year 2023 show 752,300 returns reporting $20.58 billion of qualified solar electric costs, an average of $27,355 per return. At the 30% rate that average implies a credit of about $8,206 before tax-liability limits. Battery storage, eligible on its own from 2023, appeared on 48,840 returns with $541.2 million of costs.

What 25D paid for: qualified costs reported on Form 5695, tax year 2023 (preliminary) Download CSV
ItemReturnsAmount ($ thousands)Average per return ($)Share of qualified 25D costs (%)
Solar electric property752,30020,579,43027,35586.0
Solar water heating property139,130833,5795,9913.5
Geothermal heat pump property80,730975,02812,0784.1
Fuel cell property35,850752,12020,9803.1
Battery technology48,840541,17111,0802.3
Small wind energy property41,990254,3296,0571.1
All six property types23,935,657100.0
Credit carryforward from previous year539,6303,787,5697,019
Residential clean energy credit1,246,4406,337,1225,084
Credit carryforward to next year601,3004,488,0687,464

IRS Form 5695 Table 1, returns processed through 2024-05-23 (preliminary; excludes late filers). Cost lines are qualified expenditures before the 30% rate.

Source: [5] Internal Revenue Service, Research, Applied Analytics and Statistics

Solar panel racking with PV wire connectors and a rooftop junction box
Illustrative photograph. Generated image, not a specific project.

The same table shows 93,330 returns reporting panelboard, subpanel, branch circuit or feeder work under 25C. Panel costs and rebates are covered in electrical panel upgrade cost; installation trades are covered in EV, solar and low voltage.

Six of 11 states checked still offer a state income tax credit for residential solar in 2026

State incentives did not end with 25D. In an 11-state sample checked against statutes and tax agency pages, six income tax credits remain, two have ended, and several states exempt solar equipment from sales or property tax.

Arizona (25%, up to $1,000), Massachusetts (15%, up to $1,000), New Mexico (10%, up to $6,000), New York (25%, up to $5,000) and South Carolina (25%, up to $3,500 a year) set rates and caps in statute or program rules; Hawaii's Renewable Energy Technologies Income Tax Credit has no repeal date under current law. Montana repealed its alternative energy system credit in 2021, and Utah's photovoltaic credit fell to $0 for systems installed on or after January 1, 2024.

State tax incentives for residential solar in force in 2026: sample of 11 states checked against statutes and agency pages Download CSV
StateState income tax credit for residential solar (2026)Terms as publishedSales tax treatmentProperty tax treatmentCitationSource idsChecked
ArizonaYes25% of cost, maximum $1,000 per residence, 5-year carryforwardSales of solar energy devices deducted from the tax baseSolar energy devices considered to add no valueARS 43-1083; 42-5061(M); 42-11054(C)s15, s16, s172026-10-27
CaliforniaNot checkedNot checkedActive solar energy system new construction exclusionRev. and Tax. Code s. 73 (BOE)s312026-10-27
FloridaNot checkedSolar energy systems and components exemptResidential: device value not considered (nonresidential: 80% not considered)Fla. Stat. 212.08(7)(hh); 193.624s28, s292026-10-27
HawaiiYesRenewable Energy Technologies Income Tax Credit; no repeal date under current law (rate not stated on the agency page)Not checkedNot checkedHRS 235-12.5s182026-10-27
MassachusettsYes15% of net expenditure, maximum $1,000, 3-year carryoverSolar equipment for a principal residence exemptNot checkedMGL c. 62 s. 6(d); c. 64H s. 6(dd)s19, s202026-03-31 and 2026-05-08 archive copies
MontanaNo (repealed)Alternative energy system credit repealed by Chapter 503, Laws of 2021Not checkedNot checkedMCA 15-32-201s212026-10-27
New MexicoYes10% of equipment, materials and labor, maximum $6,000; EMNRD certificationNot checkedNot checkedNew Solar Market Development Tax Credits222026-10-27
New YorkYes25% of qualified expenditures, maximum $5,000Residential solar equipment and installation exempt15-year exemption for systems built before 2030-01-01; localities may opt outTax Law 606(g-1); 1115(ee); RPTL 487s23, s24, s252025-11-08 to 2026-10-12 archive copies
South CarolinaYes25% of costs; up to $3,500 per facility per year or 50% of tax liability; 10-year carryforwardNot checkedNot checkedSC Code 12-6-3587s262026-10-27
TexasNot checkedNot checkedSolar and wind-powered energy device exemption (Form 50-123)Tax Code 11.27s272026-10-27
UtahNo (phased out)PV credit maximum $0 for systems installed on or after 2024-01-01 ($400 in 2023)Not checkedNot checkedUCA 59-10-1014s302026-10-27

A sample, not a 50-state survey. 'Not checked' means this report did not verify that tax for that state; it does not mean no incentive exists. DSIRE counts solar PV incentives of some kind (state or utility) in 45 states plus DC as of April 2026.

Source: [15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31][32] Arizona State Legislature; Arizona State Legislature; Arizona State Legislature; Hawaii Department of Taxation; Massachusetts Legislature; Massachusetts Legislature; Montana Legislature; New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department; New York State Senate; New York State Senate; New York State Senate; South Carolina Legislature; Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts; Florida Legislature; Florida Legislature; Utah State Legislature; California State Board of Equalization; DSIRE, NC Clean Energy Technology Center

Four of the 11 states exempt solar equipment from sales tax (Arizona, Florida, Massachusetts, New York) and five shield it from property tax (Arizona, California, Florida, New York, Texas). The sample is not a 50-state count. DSIRE, which tracks incentives nationally, shows solar PV incentives of some kind in 45 states plus DC as of April 2026, including utility programs. Net metering rules are in net metering by state.

How we ranked the states

25D status in 2026

FormulaStatute text (Pub. L. 119-21 s. 70506) + IRS FS-2025-05 + IRS 25D page

Inputs: fact rows for s7, s9, s10; table t1 (fact sheet rows)

Result: No 25D credit for expenditures made (installation completed) after December 31, 2025

Homeowner-owned systems completed in 2026 earn no federal credit; carryforwards from earlier years continue.

Limitations: Not tax advice; later legislation could change the law.

Claims per 1,000 returns by state

FormulaN07262 / N1 x 1,000

Inputs: fact rows for state claims and returns (s1) (fact sheet rows)

Result: US 9.5; Nevada 20.8; North Dakota 1.7; ratio 12.2

12 of 51 jurisdictions exceed the US rate, all in the South, West or New England.

Limitations: Returns are not households; return address may differ from the home where the system sits.

Average credit per claiming return by state

FormulaA07262 x 1,000 / N07262

Inputs: fact rows for state amounts and claims (s1) (fact sheet rows)

Result: US $5,132; New Hampshire $7,442; Mississippi $2,268

Higher averages track higher incomes and larger tax liabilities as well as system cost.

Limitations: Credit used, not credit earned; carryforward amounts are excluded.

Concentration of credit dollars by state

Formulastate amount / US amount x 100

Inputs: fact rows for state amounts (s1) (fact sheet rows)

Result: California 24.8%; California, Texas and Florida 49.4%; top 10 69.1%

Nearly half of the federal credit went to three states.

Limitations: US total includes Puerto Rico and other areas.

National trend in claims since 2018

Formula(2022 / 2018 - 1) x 100 for combined field

Inputs: trend fact rows (s3) (fact sheet rows)

Result: Dollars +233.1%, claims +343.3% (2018 to 2022); 2023 combined $10.12 billion

Use of residential energy credits grew every year in the series.

Limitations: Pre-2023 field combines 25C and 25D; nominal dollars.

Share of credit dollars to higher-income returns

Formulasum of Table 3.3 amounts for AGI groups / total x 100

Inputs: income fact rows (s4) (fact sheet rows)

Result: AGI $100,000 or more: 71.5% of dollars (47.2% of claims); AGI $200,000 or more: 29.3% (15.7% of claims)

Dollars skew more to high incomes than claims do, because average credits rise with income.

Limitations: Sample estimates; AGI is one year's income.

State incentive count in 2026 (sample)

Formulacount of sampled states with each incentive, from statutes and agency pages

Inputs: table t6 (s15 to s31) (fact sheet rows)

Result: 6 of 11 with a state income tax credit; 2 ended; 4 with a sales tax exemption; 5 with a property tax exemption or exclusion

State credits are smaller than the 30% federal credit was, and most are capped at $1,000 to $6,000.

Limitations: Sample of 11 states; 'not checked' cells are unknown, not zero.

Solar share of 25D costs

Formulasolar electric costs / sum of six 25D cost lines x 100

Inputs: Form 5695 fact rows (s5) (fact sheet rows)

Result: 86.0% solar electric; 2.3% batteries

25D functioned mainly as a rooftop solar credit.

Limitations: Preliminary data through May 23, 2024.

Get the calculations (CSV)

State by state

  1. Public Law 119-21 (enacted July 4, 2025), section 70506, amended 25D(h) so the credit does not apply to any expenditures made after December 31, 2025, and struck the 26% and 22% rates scheduled for 2033 and 2034.[7][8]
  2. IRS FS-2025-05 (August 21, 2025) states that a 25D expenditure is made when original installation is completed; installation completed after December 31, 2025 means no credit even if paid for in 2025.[10]
  3. In tax year 2023, 1,518,210 US returns claimed 7,791,024 thousand dollars of 25D credit, an average of $5,132 per claiming return.[1]
  4. Nevada had the highest 25D claim rate in tax year 2023 at 20.8 per 1,000 returns; North Dakota had the lowest at 1.7.[1]
  5. 12 of 51 jurisdictions (50 states and DC) had a 2023 claim rate above the US rate of 9.5 per 1,000 returns, all of them in the South, West or New England.[1]
  6. California returns claimed $1.93 billion in tax year 2023, 24.8% of the US total; California, Texas and Florida together claimed 49.4%.[1]
  7. The average 2023 credit per claiming return ranged from $2,268 in Mississippi to $7,442 in New Hampshire.[1]
  8. Returns with AGI of $100,000 or more filed 47.2% of 2023 25D claims and received 71.5% of the dollars (IRS Table 3.3, US).[4]
  9. Returns with AGI under $25,000 were 26.9% of all 2023 returns but received 0.2% of 25D dollars, an average of $516 per claim.[4]
  10. On preliminary 2023 Form 5695 data, 752,300 returns reported $20.58 billion of solar electric costs, 86.0% of qualified 25D costs, averaging $27,355 per return.[5]
  11. 48,840 returns reported $541.2 million of battery storage costs for tax year 2023, the first year batteries qualified on their own.[5][9]
  12. 601,300 returns carried $4.49 billion of unused 25D credit from 2023 into later years (preliminary data).[5]
  13. US combined residential energy credits (25C and 25D) grew from $2.40 billion in tax year 2018 to $7.98 billion in 2022, a 233.1% increase in nominal dollars.[3]
  14. Section 70513 of Public Law 119-21 ends the Section 48E business credit for wind and solar property placed in service after December 31, 2027 when construction begins after July 4, 2026; its new lease rule names only solar water heating and small wind property, not solar electric property.[7][8][13]

In short

  • Section 70506 of Public Law 119-21, enacted July 4, 2025, ended the Residential Clean Energy Credit for expenditures made after December 31, 2025 (the law).
  • IRS Fact Sheet FS-2025-05 says an expenditure counts as made when installation is completed, so a 2025 payment for a system finished in 2026 does not qualify.
  • In tax year 2023, 1,518,210 returns claimed $7.79 billion of 25D credit, or 9.5 claims per 1,000 returns (IRS SOI state data released 2026-08-21).
  • Nevada (20.8), Hawaii (17.8) and Florida (17.7) had the highest claim rates per 1,000 returns; California claimed the most dollars, $1.93 billion or 24.8% of the US total.
  • Returns with AGI of $100,000 or more received 71.5% of 2023 credit dollars and returns of $200,000 or more received 29.3% (IRS Table 3.3).
  • Solar electric property was 86.0% of qualified 25D costs on 2023 Form 5695 filings; batteries were 2.3%.
  • Combined residential energy credit dollars (25C and 25D) rose 233.1% from 2018 to 2022 and reached $10.12 billion in 2023.
  • Of 11 states checked against statutes and agency pages, 6 still offer a state income tax credit for residential solar in 2026, and 2 have ended theirs.

What people search for

Is the solar tax credit going away?

For homeowners it has already gone. Public Law 119-21, section 70506, ended the 25D credit for expenditures made after December 31, 2025. The Section 48E business credit for wind and solar ends for property placed in service after December 31, 2027 when construction begins after July 4, 2026 (section 70513).

Can I still get the solar tax credit in 2026?

Not for a system you own that is completed in 2026. IRS FS-2025-05 says the expenditure is made when installation is completed, so completion after December 31, 2025 means no 25D credit. Systems completed in 2025 are claimed on the 2025 Form 5695, and unused credit carries forward to 2026.

Does the solar tax credit apply to batteries?

It did from 2023 through 2025: 25D covered battery storage of at least 3 kilowatt hours installed at a home, and 48,840 returns reported $541.2 million of battery costs for 2023 (preliminary). Battery expenditures made after December 31, 2025 do not qualify for 25D. The 48E wind and solar termination in section 70513(a) does not apply to energy storage technology placed in service at such a facility.

Do states have solar tax credits?

Some do. Of 11 states checked against statutes and agency pages, six (Arizona, Hawaii, Massachusetts, New Mexico, New York, South Carolina) offer a state income tax credit for residential solar in 2026; Montana repealed its credit and Utah's fell to $0 from 2024. Several states also exempt solar equipment from sales or property tax.

Common questions

What was the Residential Clean Energy Credit?

A federal credit under Section 25D equal to 30% of the cost of new qualified solar electric, solar water heating, small wind, geothermal heat pump, fuel cell and battery storage property at a home the taxpayer lived in, including installation labor. It was nonrefundable, with unused credit carried forward.

When exactly did the federal solar tax credit end?

Section 25D does not apply to expenditures made after December 31, 2025 (Public Law 119-21, section 70506, enacted July 4, 2025). Under 25D(e)(8)(A), an expenditure is made when original installation is completed.

I paid for solar in 2025 but it was installed in 2026. Do I get the credit?

According to IRS FS-2025-05 (August 21, 2025), no: if installation is completed after December 31, 2025, the expenditure is treated as made after that date and 25D cannot be claimed. Ask a tax professional about your facts.

How many people claimed the solar tax credit?

In tax year 2023, 1,518,210 returns claimed $7.79 billion of 25D credit according to IRS state data. The sample-based IRS Table 3.3 estimates 1,481,945 returns and $8.23 billion.

Which state claimed the most solar tax credit?

California claimed the most dollars in tax year 2023, $1.93 billion or 24.8% of the US total. Nevada had the highest rate, 20.8 claims per 1,000 returns, against 9.5 nationally.

What was the average solar tax credit per return?

$5,132 per claiming return in tax year 2023 (IRS state data), ranging from $2,268 in Mississippi to $7,442 in New Hampshire. Preliminary Form 5695 data show average solar electric costs of $27,355 per return.

Who claimed the residential clean energy credit by income?

Returns with AGI of $100,000 or more received 71.5% of 2023 25D dollars and those of $200,000 or more received 29.3%. Returns under $25,000 received 0.2% (IRS Table 3.3).

Can unused solar tax credit still be used in 2026?

Yes, carryforward rules were not changed. The 2025 Form 5695 instructions describe carrying the unused portion to 2026. For 2023, 601,300 returns carried $4.49 billion forward (preliminary IRS data).

Do leased solar panels or PPAs still get a federal credit?

Owners of leased or PPA systems use business credits such as Section 48E, not 25D. Section 48E ends for solar property placed in service after December 31, 2027 when construction begins after July 4, 2026, and section 70513(c) bars it for leased solar water heating and small wind property. Whether a specific contract qualifies is for the owner's tax adviser.

Did the energy efficient home improvement credit end too?

Yes. Section 70505 ended the 25C credit for property placed in service after December 31, 2025. In tax year 2023, 2,612,610 returns claimed $2.32 billion of 25C (IRS state data).

Get the data

Every table in this report is available as a CSV under CC BY 4.0. The fact sheet lists each value with its source URL and access date.

Cite this report

The figures to cite first

  1. Section 25D does not apply to expenditures made after December 31, 2025; installation completed after that date does not qualify (Public Law 119-21; IRS FS-2025-05).[7][10]
  2. 1,518,210 returns claimed $7.79 billion of 25D credit in tax year 2023, 9.5 per 1,000 returns (IRS SOI).[1]
  3. 71.5% of 2023 25D dollars went to returns with AGI of $100,000 or more (IRS Table 3.3).[4]

Quotable figures

  • 1,518,210 US tax returns claimed $7.79 billion of Residential Clean Energy Credit in tax year 2023 (IRS Statistics of Income state data).[1]
  • Nevada had the highest 25D claim rate in tax year 2023, 20.8 per 1,000 returns, against 9.5 nationally (IRS SOI).[1]
  • California, Texas and Florida claimed 49.4% of 2023 US 25D credit dollars (IRS SOI).[1]
  • Returns with AGI of $100,000 or more received 71.5% of 2023 25D credit dollars; returns under $25,000 received 0.2% (IRS Table 3.3).[4]
  • Solar electric property was 86.0% of qualified 25D costs on 2023 Form 5695 filings (IRS, preliminary).[5]
  • Section 25D does not apply to expenditures made after December 31, 2025 (Public Law 119-21, section 70506).[7]

Summary for editors

There is no federal solar tax credit for homeowner-owned systems completed in 2026. Public Law 119-21 ended the 30% Residential Clean Energy Credit (Section 25D) for expenditures made after December 31, 2025, and IRS guidance treats an expenditure as made when installation is completed. IRS Statistics of Income data released August 21, 2026 show who used the credit in its last fully reported year. In tax year 2023, 1,518,210 returns claimed $7.79 billion, an average of $5,132. Nevada had the highest claim rate at 20.8 per 1,000 returns and North Dakota the lowest at 1.7. California, Texas and Florida claimed 49.4% of the dollars. Returns with adjusted gross income of $100,000 or more received 71.5% of the credit, and solar electric property made up 86.0% of qualified costs. State credits remain in 6 of 11 states checked.

Headlines the data supports

  • Federal solar tax credit ends; IRS data show $7.79 billion claimed in its last full year of state data
  • Nevada led the nation in solar tax credit claims per 1,000 returns in 2023
  • 71.5% of residential clean energy credit dollars went to returns over $100,000 AGI
  • California, Texas and Florida took 49.4% of the 2023 residential clean energy credit
  • Six of 11 states checked still offer a residential solar income tax credit after the federal cutoff

Citation

Electrical Contractors and Wiring. (2026). Solar tax credit 2026: the federal credit has ended, and this is who claimed it by state and income. Retrieved from https://electricalcontractorsandwiring.com/data/solar-tax-credit/

Reuse

Data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0. Attribution: “Source: Electrical Contractors and Wiring, Solar tax credit 2026: the federal credit has ended, and this is who claimed it by state and income” with a link to this page.

How we built this report

Question and scope: the status of the federal Residential Clean Energy Credit (26 U.S.C. 25D) in 2026, and who claimed it by state and income. Law and guidance were read in the enacted text of Public Law 119-21 on govinfo, the current 25D text and amendment notes, IRS FS-2025-05, the IRS credit page, the 2025 Form 5695 instructions and IRS Notice 2025-42, all checked on 2026-10-27.

State data: IRS Statistics of Income Historic Table 2, tax year 2023, the most recent release (August 21, 2026). Tax year 2023 is the first year the state file reports 25D (N07262) separately from 25C (N07265). Claims per 1,000 returns divide N07262 by all returns (N1); average credit divides A07262 (thousands of dollars) by N07262. Rankings cover 50 states and DC; the US total also includes Puerto Rico and other areas. Calculations are in derived_metrics.csv and scripts/.

Trend: tax years 2018 to 2022 use the single combined residential energy credit field (N07260). For comparability, 2023 is shown as 25D plus 25C dollars. Returns cannot be de-duplicated across the two 2023 fields, so no combined 2023 return count is shown. Dollars are nominal.

Income: IRS Publication 1304 Table 3.3 for tax year 2023, weighted sample estimates by AGI, grouped into six bands. Table 3.3 and the state file differ in population (all tax year 2023 returns vs returns filed in calendar 2024), so national totals differ; each is reported with its source. Property-type detail comes from the preliminary Form 5695 Table 1 (returns processed through May 23, 2024).

State incentives: a sample of 11 states chosen for high 25D use or a known state solar credit, checked against the statute or the tax or energy agency page. Where an official legislature site blocked automated access, an Internet Archive copy was used and labelled with its capture date. Cells marked 'Not checked' were not verified. No state incentive totals were estimated.

Excluded: a DSIRE program-database query (API returned HTTP 403), the congress.gov CRS page (bot challenge; an Internet Archive copy was used instead), CRS Insight IN12423 (no archive copy; its figures were replaced with the underlying IRS tables) and the Hawaii statute page (HTTP 403 and archive 403). See excluded.md. Limitations: amounts are credits used, not earned; returns are not households. Last updated 2026-10-27.

This report presents published data with its limitations. It is not legal, financial or investment advice.

Sources by tier

Tier 1: primary and official sources (29)

Tier 2: trade bodies, market research, company data (3)

Free newsletter